Halkidiki days 3-6

I’m back once again in my spot on the balcony, listening to the favourite song I’ve discovered this week (Taylor Swift “Teardrops on my guitar”) just outside the room I’ve been sharing with my son here in beautiful Halkidiki.

Its been such a relaxed week that I’m probably not going to do it justice here saying what I’ve been up to. But that’s never stopped me trying before.

On Monday and Tuesday we just got into the swing of things around the hotel. Well, mainly the pool to be honest during which I discovered an hitherto unknown talent for water polo. That said, I suspect that the version of the game played here is perhaps a touch less controlled, shall we say, compared to the real version.

On Monday night we had a lovely greek meal at this restaurant down by the pool which was great. The food has been gorgeous all week actually although I’m hoping I haven’t put too much weight on but part of me doesn’t really care as that can be fixed when I’m home.

Tonight we had another beautiful meal at this Italian themed restaurant they have here, which has this gorgeous view out to sea over the outdoor pools. Just another perfect evening really ended by getting a drink or two with Jean while the kids were watching Ratatouille (which is great I hear). Just fantastic really.

So what else we been up to. Well we won a music quiz winning a bottle of “champagne”, Oceania’s finest apparently. It was nice but only I would win a bottle of booze at an all inclusive hotel. It was 80s themed which is so my era, being old and all that.

Yesterday we walked down to the town of Nea Moudania (excuse any dodgy spelling please) and took in the market there. The pics I posted most recently were from there. It was quite good as markets go but it wouldn’t be unfair to say the town isn’t that well developed. But hey it was a good trip and a nice morning well spent.

Over the last 24 hours or so the weather hasn’t been as gorgeous but its been ok when it mattered. Just before I popped down to the bar last night I think it must have chucked it down and I am told it was horrid after I’d got to sleep too. But it hasn’t affected much.

This morning the four of us had a go at some of the watersports on offer – Jean and Lauren in a pedalo and me and Alex in a 2 man surfboard-type kayak. I always thought I’d end up doing some watersports but if you’d have told me before the holiday I would at some stage by paddling out into the open water of the Aegean sea with my 11 year old son without anything like life jackets I might have thought you a touch mad. But that’s just what we did and it was a pretty amazing experience.

I’m going to wander back inside and get back to watching Sky News or BBC World News as that is about the best the tv offers. Guess that’s the downside of not having one room for the 4 of us really although it does give a good excuse for wandering down to the bar on my own a couple of times! Bye for now!

Leave a Reply

