That other island!

It might have been months since I posted here but my plane journey to spend a day working in Guernsey just prompted me to. Not that it was an eventful journey at all. I just noticed a few things.

Firstly, I have never before seen a sign in a passenger plane saying “For loading instructions, please see owners manual”. There’s an Owner’s Manual??! What on earth could be in it? Do I want to be reading it? And if not why’s the sign there. Very odd.

The plane I was in this morning was new to me too. I remember the old Aurigny Trilander and last year when I came here the plane was small but still had an aisle.

This morning’s transport was this tiny 10-seater. No aisle. Even had some seats you had to lift forward to get to others. Like a dodgy 1980s Mini!

In fact if I’m not mistaken the body of the plane was coffin shaped. Wonder if that saves time should the worst happen. In fact wonder how big the plane is I’m getting on in a minute.

This was actually the first time I’d been on a plane where the pilot offered all passengers earplugs. When I say offered he literally had a bucket of earplugs to pass round. Nice.

Final observation of the morning was the apparent appearance of a cemetery just short of the runway when landing. Again just what nervous flyers would love to see. Fortunately I’m not one.

Anyhow it’s been a good day today and looking forward to what might be a regular visit here. Should be good!

Leave a Reply

