Traveling to Poole

Intro

Often I’ll do little diaries for holidays, as much for my own pleasure both at the time and looking back later, documenting where we’ve been and what we’ve been up to. Not long ago I read back my posts from my trips to the BVI and to Egypt and enjoyed the read hugely, but then realised I didn’t do anything for Marrakech but I certainly didn’t enjoy that trip any less.

So I decided only very late on (the first morning in a hotel) that I’d at least start one off. Whether it becomes being about our holiday (and even then I’m not sure that’s the right word for what we’re doing this week) or it turns into a half-marathon preparation blog will remain to be seen.

Let’s get to business then.

Monday

I managed to leave work on Monday morning more or less on time.  This was an encouraging start to the week. And quite rare in itself.  Usually I spend so long making sure everything is “just so” at work that I’ll be much later and feel much less organised. Like a say, a good start.

I did however forget for a while that my half-marathon training schedule dictated a 20 minute run. This was an odd one.  It was not only my last Jersey training run but it was possibly the warmest conditions I’ve had which caught me out a bit.  Anyway, I ran down to Rue de Pre in a little over 8 minutes which was probably a bit quicker than necessary. On the way back I ran up a hill which we’ll often avoid so I guess I could do no more.

There’s not a lot to say about the boat trip. It was good and uneventful. The first run from Jersey to Guernsey was a little lumpy but nothing too bad. The second trip to Weymouth was just very smooth, and passed much more quickly than I was expecting.  We were off the boat quickly, and on our way to Poole.  We realised quite quickly that we were well ahead of schedule so thought we’d bring forward our visit to Halfords to pick up this dashboard mount for our GPS – fed up with holding it all the time! We got there just before closing in the end, although that contradicted the closing time we had seen on the internet. Obviously this store was not understaffed. They had maybe 8 of them all hanging around by the door. Clearly this was not going to be a day for browsing the shop in peace and quiet!

The other funny thing about this trip was the occasional “Flood” signs. I know they have been there for good reasons but I’ve seen more water in the average puddle. We drove through a puddle once. I shouldn’t complain I know – if we’d been here last week I dare say our drive wouldn’t be so simple.

The drive to the hotel was a good one, and the hotel itself was lovely. Yes there were a couple of problems with the room, one was quickly fixed and the other was easily worked around.  It was a shame though because absolutely all of the staff are lovely here – a shame that a little maintenance has slightly let them down.

Leave a Reply

