Wind, rain and outstanding running

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/844768904

Let’s be quite clear about this – the weather today was awful. Windy, raining steadily and not particularly cool in the circumstances. But we still got up and ran for 45 minutes.

And ran pretty damn hard at that. On the way out the wind was behind me for the first 15 minutes or so and I was setting some seriously fast pace – up to 12km/h which I just don’t do for distance runs. Towards the end of the outward run around the other side of the bay I was running into the wind again and it was tough.

At one time I couldn’t keep my left eye open because the wind and rain were just beating really hard on it. The occasional sea wall brought some relief but it was tough. On the way back it was predictably hard in much the same way as 12km/h briefly seemed relatively easy but I kept a pretty good 11km/h average in the main.

So all in all I was just about on 10k record pace, but I never intended to go for that so I didn’t. But it was however my fastest run ever at any distance greater than 5k. Really proud of that. It was a great run and training is going well.

Today’s favorite running tune was the very excellent Alistair Griffin “Always No. 1”. Liked that a lot.

Leave a Reply

