Bournemouth Bay 10k

Well it’s been a little while since I posted here and a lot of running has been done during that time particularly featuring a little 10k in Bournemouth.

10 days or so after Silverstone we visited Brighton and made a point of having a run there along the seafront, and to stop off at Steve Ovett’s statue as is now necessary for us.
http://s0.geograph.org.uk/geophotos/03/05/87/3058747_76f0367a.jpg

I had a half decent parkrun the week before Bournemouth so I think I was well prepared. The Bournemouth Bay 10k itself was an OK race. Not my best for sure but given the slightly peculiar circumstances of the day it was alright. The start was poorly managed and I couldn’t even run for the first few hundred metres or so. Then the far end of the course was featuring a really nasty cliff side climb which I just wasn’t really prepared for. I walked up and lost a couple more minutes. So all in all a time a fraction under 55 minutes was fine.

Since then I’ve had some interesting long runs. 8 miles down to La Haule and back was fun and different. That day I was trying out Spotify Running which was really good – especially when combined with last.fm so I can call up what I listened to during the run.

This past weekend I did 14km heading through Waterworks Valley aiming for a reasonably constant heart rate rather than speed. I enjoyed the different approach and for a change did my long run at the sort of pace I should do it at.

My next event will be the Durrell Challenge in May and today we signed up to return to the Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park for the Dame Kelly Holmes Trust event. Looking forward to both of them but lots of work needed!

Leave a Reply

