Two tunnels and a half marathon

… And maybe a marathon too.

No this isn’t the title of some dreadful new Richard Curtis film but it is a summary of some of the running related news from my last couple of weeks.

The Two Tunnels 10k “Return Ticket” was selected as our July event which will also double as the opening of a little short break we now have planned. As a Garmin addict I’m really not sure how I’ll feel about running in tunnels which I’d imagine have no GPS signal. I’ll be relyin on my own senses more than usual.

In Half Marathon news, we have made the slightly tough decision to opt out of the Silverstone Half in 2017. Not that we won’t be back – in fact I’m 99% sure we will be – but next year we have a better focus. It will likely be our last opportunity to run in our daughters current home town so the Reading Half Marathon gets our vote for our big event early in the year. As we now have at least some recognition of a few places in Reading it should be a great day.

And I’m sure it will be good preparation for London. Hopefully. Hopefully in the sense that we’re in the ballot again for the London Marathon along with the best part of 300,000 others. I was quite excited but it’s sobering to realise how slim the chances are. It almost makes trying another marathon and going for a Good For Age qualifying time look reasonable. Almost.

So lots to look forward to then. Training has been going OK. I did a hilly session on the roads around our home which featured a particularly strong and fast final climb. A mid-25 minute time at parkrun followed then a steady 8 miler and finally tonight brought a very strong 5k session, covering the ground in under 27 minutes – terrific for a training run.

Which then brings me finally to the Durrell Challenge on Sunday week. I think I’m perversely looking forward to this one. A largely uphill 13k really shouldn’t be appealing but at the same time I think I’m due for a strong run with how training has gone. Time will tell, but at the very least I’m really keen to get going.

Leave a Reply

