Miles and holiday smiles

After today’s run I decided it was about time I posted here, but thought I’d focus on my recent running exploits, rather than whatever we’d been up to on holiday recently. I’m going to hold to that save for some running we did in Greece, but suffice to say our holiday in Greece was absolutely fantastic. A brilliant week and we’d certainly love to go back to the same place sometime.

So about that running then. Well our first run was on the way out for our holiday. Sort of. We had an extra day in the UK before our flight to Greece and we decided, on a recommendation, to visit Reigate and go for a run.

I’m struggling to remember now but I think I’d planned to do 12 miles around Reigate Park and its neighbouring Priory Park. It was a hot day and the terrain was decidedly lumpy, as well as more unstable and trail-like than what I’m used to, and in the end I was pretty much spent after 6 and a half. But I hadn’t run very much in the immediate period prior so I had to be happy really.

While we were away we took the opportunity for lots of swimming and a bit of kayaking. Some football too which reminded me that I probably can’t run up and down a football pitch for the full length of a game like I used to be able to.  But we did also make some time for running. Firstly a two miler, which was enough to run to the nearest town and back then towards the end of the holiday an early morning 4.5km around the same sort of route but extending one end of it as far as I could without crossing any main roads. Those runs were tough but fun.

The proper distance training has kicked in since we’ve got home. Last week I completed a scheduled half marathon in exactly 2 hours 10 minutes. I was really happy with that and it made me think I was slightly ahead of schedule in terms of my marathon training.

Which pretty much brings us to today. Today’s run was designed to be 16 miles although it was eventually a little bit more than that. I wanted to explore a new running route and to do that I decided I would start with the course of the Durrell Challenge and then return home.

The day before I’d done Parkrun #96 and I think that despite lots of signs of good fitness including a run of 24:14, there was still a great deal of tiredness in my legs. I walked up the steepest hills and had a couple of other walks but it didn’t do any harm to the ultimate pace and performance.

Today’s run was solid. Only my 8th fastest half marathon, but it was, of course a training run so it didn’t really matter. That being said it was also my fastest 15 miles ever. A brilliant run really.

During the course of the week we decided to register for the Jayson Lee 10k here and now that’s only two weeks away. I haven’t raced over that distance since last December so it is about due. The last time, though, still stands as my second best 10k ever. What with my current 5k form, i don’t really know how well it might go, but i do know however that I’m looking forward to it.

I’m taking this week as a recovery week so I’m hoping to have a little more rest before building up to my final couple of long runs in the run up to the full Marathon. 

Leave a Reply

